

SPECIAL EDUCATION DISTRICT OF MCHENRY COUNTY 1200 CLAUSSEN DRIVE WOODSTOCK, IL 60098

Minutes from the Special Meeting of the SEDOM Governing Board of Directors March 1, 2023

A meeting of the Governing Board of Directors of the Special Education District of McHenry County convened at 7:00pm on Wednesday, March 1, 2023, at the SEDOM Educational Center, 1200 Claussen Drive, Woodstock, IL.

Call to Order: Ms. Lea Damisch, President of the Executive Board, called the meeting to order at 7:00pm.

A=Absent P-Present			
District	Number	B.O.E. Member	
Nippersink	2	Mr. Ryan Andrus	Р
Johnsburg (Unit)	12	*Ms. Cathy Neiss	Р
McHenry Elem.	15	Mr. Patrick DeGeorge	Р
Riley Elem.	18	*Mr. Bryan Millard	Р
Alden-Hebron (Unit)	19	Mr. Andy Madsen	Р
Harrison Elem.	36	*Ms. Karen Parks	Р
Harvard (Unit)	50	Mr. Roger Wilhoit	Р
Marengo H.S.	154	*Dr. Farrah Ranzino	Р
McHenry H.S.	156	Mr. Timothy Hying	Р
Richmond Burton H.S.	157	Ms. Jennifer Read	Р
Marengo-Union Elem.	165	Ms. Barb Dochterman	Р

*Denotes Current Executive Board Member

Eleven of the eleven-member districts were present at roll call.

Introduction of Executive Board and Administrative Staff:

Following roll call, Dr. Damisch introduced the Executive Board members present including Mr. Bryan Millard, Ms. Cathy Neiss and Ms. Karen Parks. Also present was the Executive Director, Dr. Tim Burns.

Approval of August 3, 2022, Governing Board Meeting Minutes:

District 12 moved; District 50 seconded the approval of the minutes of the August 3, 2022, meeting of the Governing Board of Directors. On a voice vote the motion passed unanimously.

Appointment of Executive Board Members:

District 50 moved; District 15 seconded to appoint the following Executive Board Members to the terms of office:

Dr. Corey Tafoya to finish the unexpired term of former Executive Board Member Dr. Linda Dujmovich until the natural conclusion of the term in 2023.

Dr. Lea Damisch Superintendent of Marengo-Union #165 to serve a term of office from 2023-2027.

Dr. Corey Tafoya Superintendent of Harvard CUSD #50 to serve a term of office from 2023-2027.

Ms. Tiffany Elswick Superintendent of Alden-Hebron District #19 to serve a term of office from 2023-2027.

Ayes: All districts voted unanimously Nayes: 0 Abstention:0

Designation of the August Governing Board of Directors Meeting:

District 18 moved, and District 12 seconded that the Governing Board Meeting in August which primarily focuses on the budget be held on Wednesday August 2, 2023. On a voice vote the motion passed unanimously.

Executive Director's Report: Dr. Burns gave an update on the current FY23 Budget as well as a summary of the recently held strategic planning meetings. Dr. Burns mentioned that it is possible that the status of the organization may chance between this meeting and the August meeting. Dr. Burns discussed recent developments with regard to the continued leasing of the building in addition to the existence of credible parties that wish to purchase the building. Dr. Burns discussed the overall functional purpose of leasing the building and the current status of its tenant with regard to the leasing of the building. Dr. Burns mentioned it is possible that in August of 2023 that the building may have a new tenant, a significantly different relationship with its current tenant or that the building may in the process of being sold or has been sold. Dr. Burns was asked and promised to keep the G.B.D. aware of any developments in this area. Dr. Burns discussed the potential transition from a "deficit by design" to a "balanced budget" that would inevitably lead to reductions of service in FY 25, in addition to potential investment options to generate additional income for the cooperative. Dr. Burns also mentioned that it is likely that the cooperative may seek to sever its relationship as the fiscal agent of the Regional Office of Education-Regional Safe Schools Program (RSSP).

Other Business: No other business.

Adjournment:

District 36 moved; District 50 seconded to adjourn the meeting at 8:02pm. On a voice vote, the motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted:

President, Executive Board

Secretary, Executive Board